The WCC Centennial Medal for Women in Leadership was awarded between 2016 and 2019 to women who have made significant contributions to shaping policy that improves the quality of life for all New Yorkers.


Ruth E. Acker, Past WCC President (2007-2012)

Susan Alt, Past WCC President (1990-1993)

Maria del Carmen Arroyo, Chief Administrative Officer, Acacia Network; Former City Council Member, 17thDistrict, Bronx

Carmen E. Arroyo, New York State Assembly, District 84

Inez Barron, City Council Member, 42ndDistrict, Brooklyn

Rodneyse Bichotte, New York State Assembly, District 42

Jo Ivey Boufford, Clinical Professor of Global Health, New York University School of Global Public Health and Clinical Professor of Pediatrics, New York University School of Medicine

Gale Brewer, Manhattan Borough President

Venida Browder, Mother of Kalief Browder, advocate. Deceased.

Jennifer Buffett, Co-President, NoVo Foundation

Margaret Chin, City Council Member, 1stDistrict, Manhattan

Annette Choolfaian, Past WCC President & Board Member. Deceased.

Vivian E. Cook, New York State Assembly, District 32

Margarita Curet, President, NYCHA Amsterdam Houses Resident Association

Maritza Davila, New York State Assembly, District 53

Julissa Ferreras-Copeland, City Council Member, 21stDistrict, Queens

Elizabeth Crowley, Former City Council Member, 30thDistrict, Queens

Laurie Cumbo, City Council Member, 35thDistrict, Brooklyn

Maria Cuomo Cole, Chair, H.E.L.P, USA; President, Cuomo Cole Productions

Matilda Raffa Cuomo, First Lady of New York State (1983-1995); 2017 Women’s Hall of Fame inductee

Inez E. Dickens, New York State Assembly, District 70; Former City Council Member, 9thDistrict, Manhattan

Honorable Monica Drinane, Attorney-in-Charge of the Juvenile Rights Division (co-chair of the NYC Children’s Cabinet Advisory Board, former Supervising Judge of Bronx Family Court

Soffiyah Elijah, Executive Director, Alliance of Families for Justice; Former Executive Director, Correctional Association of New York

Vanessa Gibson, City Council Member, 16thDistrict, Bronx

Kirsten Gillibrand, United States Senator

Deborah J. Glick, New York State Assembly, District 66

Kathy Hochul, Lieutenant Governor of New York State

Margaret B. Howard, Past WCC President (1993-1995)

Alicia Hyndman, New York State Assembly District

Letitia James, Attorney General of New York

The Reverend Dr. Emma Jordan-Simpson, Executive Pastor, The Concord Baptist Church of Christ; Administrator of the Brooklyn/Bridgeport Pastoral Residency Collaborative

Latoya Joyner, New York State Assembly, District 77

Pamela Joyner,

Melinda Katz, Queens District Attorney

Karen Koslowitz, City Council Member, 29thDistrict, Queens

Liz Krueger, New York State Senator

Nora Lavori, Past WCC President (1995-1996)

Jennifer B. Lee, Curator, Performing Arts Collections, Rare Books and Manuscript Library, Butler Library, Columbia University

Phyllis Lusskin, Past WCC President (1986-1988)

Blanche E. Lawton, Past WCC President (2001-2007)

Elizabeth Lubetkin Lipton, Past WCC President (1998-2001)

Nicole Malliotakis, Representative-elect, 11th District, Staten Island

Representative Carolyn B. Maloney, United States Congress, New York

Jennifer March, PhD, Executive Director, Citizens’ Committee for Children

Melissa Mark-Viverito, Former New York City Council Speaker

Heather McGhee, Trustee Emeritus, Demos Board; President, Demos, 2014-2018; and Co-Chair of Color of Change

Darlene Mealy, Former City Council Member, 41stDistrict, Brooklyn

Rosie Mendez, Director of Community Affairs, Office of Manhattan Borough President Gale Brewer; Former City Council Member, 2nd District, Manhattan

Julie Menin, Director, NYC Office of the Census

Velmanette Montgomery, New York State Senator

Peg Myerson, Past WCC President (1996-1998). Deceased.

Jessica Neuwirth, Esq., Founder/President, ERA Coalition; Founder/Director, Donor Direct Action; Founder, Equality Now

Catherine Nolan, Assemblymember, 37th District, Queens

Ana Oliveira, President & CEO, The New York Women’s Foundation

Ethel S. Paley, Past WCC President (1988-1989). Deceased.

Annabel Palma, Lead Equity Officer, Test & Trace Corps

Roxanne Persaud, New York State Senator

Elisabeth Israels Perry, Ph.D., John Francis Bannon Professor Emeritus of History and Professor Emeritus of Women’s and Gender Studies, Saint Louis University. Deceased.

Jessica Ramos, NY State Senator

Luna Ranjit, Independent Strategy Consultant

Helen D. (“Heidi”) Reavis, Esq., Managing Partner, Reavis Parent Lehrer LLP; Emmy Award-Winning Executive Producer

Diana C. Richardson, Assembly Member, 43rd District, Brooklyn

Sharon Richardson, Founder and Executive Director of Re-Entry Rocks

Annette Robinson, Former Assembly Member, 56th District, Brooklyn

Margarita RosaFormer Interim Executive Director, Caribbean Cultural Center African Diaspora Institute

Deborah Rose, City Council Member, 49thDistrict, Staten Island

Linda B. Rosenthal, Assembly Member, 67th District, Manhattan

Helen Rosenthal, City Council Member, 6thDistrict, Manhattan

Nily Rozic, Assemblymember, 25th District, Queens

Linda Sarsour, Co-chair of the 2017 Women’s March, the 2017 Day Without a Woman, and the 2019 Women’s March

Diane J. Savino, NY State Senator

Rebecca A. Seawright, Assemblymember, 76th District, Manhattan

Jo Anne Simon, Assemblymember 52nd District, Brooklyn

Pamela Shifman, Former Executive Director, NoVo Foundation

Aravella Simotas, Former Assemblymember, 36th District, Queens

Joanne Smith, Founder/President/CEO, Girls for Gender Equity

Toby Ann Stavisky, NY State Senator

Michele Titus, New York City Civil Court Judge

Ruth Hassell-Thompson, Former State Senator

Latrice Walker, Assemblymember, 55th District, Brooklyn

Helene E. Weinstein, Assemblymember, 41st District, Brooklyn

Blanche Wiesen-Cook, Professor and Eleanor Roosevelt Biographer